New to SignUpGenius? Welcome! This guide is here to help you get comfortable with our site's terms and handy features. Think of this alphabetical glossary as your cheat sheet to confidently mastering our tools. Let's get you organized!
Access Code: A password set by the organizer to restrict who can view a specific event. Learn more here.
Access Restricted: Most often, this message appears when a participant is sent an incorrect link by the sign up organizer. This is often seen when an organizer copies the link from their browser while editing a sign up instead of using the correct link.
Active Sign Up: Sign ups with future dates that are published and ready for participants to access.
Admin: An admin is the account owner, and a sub-admin is a user with permission to manage sign ups on a premium account, starting at the Gold level. To learn more, check out our pricing page.
Archived sign up: A sign up that has been stored out of view of the dashboard but is not deleted. Archived sign ups will remain for 4 years. If you find a past sign up is missing or has disappeared, click here for more information on locating a sign up in your account.
Auto-Renew: The status of an active and recurring premium subscription for SignUpGenius. For information on managing renewal or canceling a premium subscription, click here.
Confirmation Email: An automatic message sent to participants after signing up. You can customize this email as part of our premium features.
Creator: A Sign Up Creator refers to the person who organizes and administers the sign up, also referred to as the sign up organizer.
Custom Questions: Customizable form fields that organizers can use to collect specific information beyond name, email, phone number, and address, available to premium subscribers. Click here to learn more.
Draft: A draft is a sign up or message that has been started but not published or sent out. You can learn more about editing a sign up draft here.
Edit Sign Up: Refers to either an organizer's ability to make changes to a sign-up or a participant's ability to edit or delete their entry on a sign up. If you need to reschedule, change, or cancel your participation in a sign up, click here for more information.
GenuisDrive: A cloud storage feature for paid subscribers that lets you upload and store documents (like permission slips, waivers, or PDFs) to attach directly to your sign ups and emails. You can learn more about this feature here.
Global Account Settings: An option to globally set and lock certain features so that settings are automatically enabled for all sign ups associated with the account.
Groups: A collection of contacts' email addresses, allowing organizers to efficiently invite large numbers of people to sign ups, manage participants, and send targeted messages.
Invite: The digital invitation sent to participants that includes a link to a specific sign-up page, allowing them to easily see available spots and sign up directly. You can learn more about sharing invites with participants here.
Organizer: The contact person responsible for creating or managing a sign up, also known as the Creator.
Participant: A participant refers to a user who has signed up or been invited to sign up.
Past Date Sign up: When all dates on a sign up have passed, it is categorized as a Past Date Sign up and is now expired.
Publish: Publish is the final step in making a sign up active.
Reminder: An automatic message sent to participants before their scheduled slot. To learn more about setting up automatic reminders, click here.
Report: A customizable, downloadable summary of sign-up data. Click here to learn more about Reports.
Sign Up: The sign up page for an event. It can also refer to a participant's entry on the sign up page. When a participant wants to sign up for a slot, this is sometimes described as registering or joining.
Sign Up Tabbing: A premium feature that groups multiple related sign ups into one page with clickable tabs at the top, allowing participants to easily navigate between different sign up options for a large event or ongoing series. You can learn more about this feature here.
Slot: A specific time, role, or shift someone can choose. It's sometimes described as an appointment, a visit, a shift, or a time. It represents one opportunity for someone to participate.
Subscription: Refers to either a premium account status for creators or enrollment to receive notifications from a group for participants. You can click here for information on managing a premium subscription or click here for information on managing notifications.
Template: A pre-designed, customizable sign up. You can find our premade templates by clicking here.
Theme: A pre-designed visual template. There are a wide variety of free and premium themes available. Premium subscribers can customize themes starting at the Gold level. You can learn more here.
Waitlist: A feature on a sign up form where participants can sign up when a slot is full and be automatically moved into that slot if someone cancels.
Web Button: A customizable, embeddable button that links directly to either a single sign up or a page with all of your sign ups, allowing you to place it on your own website or blog for easy participant access. This feature works by generating a unique Index Link.